From Visitor to Resident

Ever since I moved to San Francisco two years ago I was attracted to The Sunset more so than any other neighborhood (well, maybe apart from the Haight). Its proximity to the ocean and how it is so non-hectic compared to the rest of the city was perfect but I was never able to find housing here.

When this assignment presented itself and my professor said no-one jumped for this neighborhood because it was a bit bleh, I did. It was true that in terms of finding good news stories, it was difficult. Also, many people are families and aren’t as approachable as in busier areas. Even so I found a few very cool people (i.e. Carol Schuldt) who were so kind and I now consider good friends. I became a regular at Java Beach and best of all I found a home a few weeks ago right by the beach.

The sense of community is great, in each little block with a cafe or liquor store, the people are familiar with each other and the sense of security is strong.

 

Leave a comment